Reflection – Feedback on Part 1

My tutor has commented to me that I need to develop my drawing skills to a higher standard.  She has suggested some on-line links and the book  by Maslen and Southern “Drawing Projects: an exploration of the language of drawing”.  I felt disheartened at first because in some ways I did not understand what that really meant and what I should be aiming for in terms of good drawing.  I struggle in my head with the process of developing classic drawing skills as opposed to innovative contemporary drawing.

But I have now looked at the online videos and can see a mixture (in my eyes) of both that I need to improve on.  I have a copy of the book referenced by the tutor and am taking it with me to Indonesia and will go through it. As well as practice, practice and more practice of my drawing.  I really appreciate that drawing is an integral part of art and design. I may be able to find some appropriate drawing classes too.

Leave a Reply

