Assign 2 Part 2 Project2 Ex 2.3

Part 2, Project 2 Exercise 2.3 Drawing with Stitch on Paper

I have examined my drawings, my manipulated papers and my threads that I have with me here in Jakarta.

  1. I looked at the lines in the folded drawings and using crumpled brown paper I followed the lines of the crumpled folds and stitched using large running stitch. I decided the line stitched needed to be solid so threaded the thread through the running stitch to make a solid line but a more organic line.  I used a weaving thread for the stitch  work.

IMG_55252.  I also worked on another piece of crumbed brown paper with a seeding type stitch see below.  But I then challenged myself did this really represent the drawing and I decided that it did not. I used a paper thread in two sizes for this stitching.

IMG_55263. Next I took a sample of the pierced paper and looking at my gelliprint of the eucalyptus leaves which have printed with straight lines I started to stitch with a thick thread but the paper rebelled and I could not pull the chenille needle through.  I switched to a finer thread and this worked fine.  I wanted to give a hint of the shape of the leaf with texture added by the piercing.

IMG_55274. I looked at my drawing of the seed pods and I decided to take one of the rubbed fragile Japanese silk type paper that I had dyed with coffee to draw more attention to the rubbed holes.  I use the holes to depict the hollows in a section of my drawing of the long seed pod and then stitched in between to represent the top part or bridge between the hollows. I took two photos one taken on the surface and the other I held up so you could see the light behind the paper. Because the paper was so fragile I had to use a fine thread so as not to break the paper.

 

5. My next sample I looked at the small pods drawing and the way the light was reflected in my drawing on them and tried to recreate with the holes and stitch.  The paper I chose was a more robust paper which I had also coffee dyed.  I chose two shades of thread with the dark one to reflect the dark shading in my drawing.

IMG_55316. Next sample I looked at my drawing of the folds in the Christening robe and decided to use one of the folded paper manipulations because it represented the folds.  I doubled the thickness of my available thread and stitched in the depth of the folds on the paper. I chose to do a curved stitch and long to give more interest.

IMG_55377. I looked at my drawing of the large closed seed pod and thought of the crumbled folded paper I had made using the local newspaper I decided it might lend itself with the curved folds I had made to this seed pod. I decided to combine a paper thread and a rayon thread together and see what happened.  I was surprised that the newspaper was so robust and dealt with the two threads and the chenille needle perfectly – no tearing.

8. I looked at the collage I did of mending and holes and seam lines.  I decided to use the brown paper i had rubbed and inspired by my collage stitch the seam line and some mending.  I used crinkled hemp paper thread and I did a backstitch but I turned it over and much preferred the back of the stitching so used that and attached some yellow handmade paper to cover the holes in places.

IMG_5541

9.  I chose the pierced handmade paper and decided to reflect drawing with a more loose circular type stitch using the Indian silk viscose thread which is quite stiff so the stitch sits high on the paper –  I knotted from the front.  I liked the way the thread casts a shadow onto the paper due to its height.

IMG_555510. I had a piece of white handmade textured paper from an Indonesian shop which I decided to fold and then dye in coffee to give it some more interest and to play on the swirly texture indented into the paper so I decided to use it to feature on small section of the swirly curvy indian ink drawing I had done with a stick depicting the flower on the christening dress.  I chose the white thick paper thread and decided to couch it down with thin cotton thread.  I chose shiny rayon thread doubled to do a secondary thinner line of curves. After I had finished I turned the piece over and thought the back looked interesting so I have photographed both the front and the back.

IMG_5557IMG_5559I found making the samples a challenge at the beginning how could I marry the drawing, paper and stitch but as I set about doing I found it really interesting.  The qualities of the paper as manipulated was good to set off stitching and really thinking about how drawing so informs the sample work overall.  So the more interesting and formed the drawing the better.

4 thoughts on “Assign 2 Part 2 Project2 Ex 2.3

  1. I enjoyed this, some really interesting explorations. The images for 4 and 5 are particularly effective in the way the thread draws on the surface. Will be good to see how this all translates into your next samples.

    Like

Leave a Reply

