Exercise 4.2 Experimental yarns and concepts (Exercise 4.2.3)

Exercise 4.2.3 Texture and tonal qualities

In this exercise I am going to look at neutral colour explorations from Exercise 3.1 to create two or three tonal yarn explorations based on the tonal colour palette I have chosen taking account of colour, proportion of colour and a sense of its translation from my original source.

I choose my neutral fabric colour piece from Exercise 3.1 using the gouache paints and I collected a range of materials to assist in translating the tonal qualities in the fabric. I made two tonal yarns exploring the tonal colour palette in my 3.1 exercise.  I decided to use conventional threads and string for these two tonal yarns.

img_8278

The first yarn I made out of threads and it was made by wrapping over a wool string.  I found that the copper/gold colour in the textile piece was hard to match from my thread collection.  I had a shiny copper and a glittering gold but these did not match the tone of the fabric threads so I opted for a more matt thread which had copper gold.

img_8282

 

For the second tonal yarn I wanted to use something different so chose sari silk and tape. The sari silk was more of a mid tone but seemed to work alright next was a cream tape with a slight fine gold thread and last I needed a deeper tone so I dyed the sari silk in strong coffee.  I mounted these strips on a piece of recycled cardboard.

img_8284

 

I studied the piece and decided to draw some more designs that might be consistent with the fabric presented and the colour.  The page is shown below.

img_8281

 

In terms of texture I produced two yarns. The fabric piece has predominately gold and cream colours and I thought that the gold could be represented in a harder way in contrast the delicateness of the fabric.  So I used gold eyelets in a piece of tape as the yarn in the first textural yarn.

img_8274

 

img_8275

The fabric has many holey pieces in the design and to represent this but in once again a more robust way I used cotton sash cord 7mm and practiced my knotting by using overhand knots to form soft loops in the second textural yarn.

img_8276

img_8277

 

It made me realise  doing Exercise 4.2 that there is just so much possibility in yarn making and its use in textile pieces particularly contemporary and experimental.

Leave a Reply

